How does the ethical review process work in Cyprus and which are the designated ethics committees?

There are 3 Ethics committees in Cyprus within the framework of the Pancyprian Medical Association, the Bank of Cyprus Oncology Centre and the Cyprus Institute of Neurology & Genetics. The last committee was established in 1994, and the other 2 after April 2000.

Additionally, The National Bioethics Committee was established by law in 2001 and began work in October 2002. They discuss bioethical issues and publish their opinions. They can consider issues raised by themselves, the Ministry of Health, Parliament or the public. It consists of 13 members who are appointed by the Council of Ministers.

Clinical trials must be approved by the Drugs Council, which operates independently from the ethics committees, and the National Bioethics Committee.